top of page

1986- A Year of First Time Experiences.

1986 was the year I left home to embark on Higher Education for the first time. Poor 'A' level results had limited my choice of Universities, which didn't really matter much to me because I was still pretty clueless as to why and what I was going to study. I guess I just went along with the flow and did what was expected of me.

Business Studies was my chosen subject, with the added bonus of studying a foreign language, Spanish. Hola! Buckinghamshire College, in the sleepy hollow of Chalfont St Giles. These days the college has become a University, the stunning Newland Park campus still exists.

 

For a Yorkshire lass like myself, at the tender age of 18, heading down to the 'Big Smoke' was no mean feat! I hadn't visited the college campus beforehand so, as you can imagine, I was somewhat gobsmacked by the whole 'poshness' of the place. I remember feeling extremely belittled by the experience. In fact, scared ****less is probably a better description!

Britain's number one September, 1986


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page