top of page

The Mature Student


Anyone studying in Higher Education in the UK over the age of 21 is now considered to be a mature student. I guess I must be a very mature student.

Personally, the only major changes I can see in the education system are in fees and funding and the standard of student accomodation. En-suite rooms certainly never existed back in 1986. Fees were paid for by the government and grants were given to students. Richer parents having to make them up with top-up allowances.

The idea of finishing studies with the burden of a heavy debt can be off-putting. For me, a student loan has enabled me to get back in to Higher Education, I don't really have this worry. I will probably never have to repay the loan, I can't see myself ever earning over £21,000!

I have been checking out some atricles about the trials and tribulations of being a Mature Student. Here are just a few of the best ones I found:

19 Struggles That Are Way Too Real For Mature Students Ffs stop calling me mum. Buzz Feed

Second-chance students: mature and motivated. The Guardian

5 Important Lessons From Mature Students. The Huffington Post

University as a mature student: top tips. The Telegraph

Number 1 UK single, September 11th 2016


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page