top of page

Social Media Savvy?


Having chosen to study a degree in Journalism and Digital Media I should have realised that this would involve a fair amount of social media interaction. When I began the course in September 2016 I was just about computer literate. I had a Facebook account to connect with long lost friends and family but didn't know how to tweet or share photos on Instaram. Getting my head round social media and accepting how essential it has now become has not been an easy task. However, like it or not, the journalist of the future has to be more technology-savvy.

18 months down the line am I now social media savvy?... Well, I definitely have more of a social media presence with 'friends' on Facebook and 46 followers on Twitter. I regularly use social media, for study and leisure, and know how to use various platforms correctly. But I guess the main objective for me is to engage with others. I'm not really concerned with numbers or becoming an online 'influencer'. It's not about getting as many tweets and posts out there as possible, quality counts more than quantity. Also it is important to take time to listen to what people are really saying.

My advice to mature students is, as you are well aware, it's never too late to learn.

Are you social media savvy? Why not try this quiz

Here are a few tips to follow

BEWARE !!!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page